We prefer that he is so the baby can have information about him. Having him involved also makes the placement more secure. However, if he is not known or won’t cooperate you can move forward without him. His rights can be terminated through the court, or he can voluntarily relinquish his rights and not get involved. If you are in Utah, there is a paternity registry where the birth-father must register his paternity or else he loses his rights to the baby once your relinquishment is signed.
If you reside in the States of Nevada and Utah where we hold licenses, there is no need to have an attorney represent you unless you specifically request it. You will never be required to appear in court before a judge in order to make your adoption plan happen. Instead, your agency worker will be there with you in reading, understanding, and signing all of the legal documentation such as relinquishment and consent documents. We come to you after your baby is born when it is time for these legal documents to be signed. They can be signed wherever you desire such as the hospital or even your home so you feel most at ease and comfortable during this emotional time. If you reside in a state outside of Nevada or Utah we can still work with you but we hire licensed professionals in your state who can execute the legal documents in accordance with the laws of your state.
A Relinquishment of Parental Rights is the legal document you sign after your baby’s birth making adoption possible.
Every state has different laws governing adoption. In Nevada you must wait 72 hours (3 days) after the baby is born to be able to sign relinquishment documents. In Utah you must wait 24 hours after the baby is born. In both of these states your relinquishment is irrevocable‚ which means that it is legally binding and you can’t change you mind once it has been signed.
If you relinquish your baby in the States of Nevada or Utah no court appearance is required.
If the baby tests positive for illegal drugs then Child Protective Services will be notified. They place a police hold on the baby. This means the baby cannot be taken out of the hospital without the approval of the judge. We inform CPS that you are working with our agency on an adoption plan. Once relinquishment documents are signed CPS is no longer involved and you can still place your baby with the adopting parents you selected. If you decide against the adoption then the baby goes into the State’s custody and will stay in foster care until CPS does an investigation and the judge makes a decision to keep the baby in foster care or allows another plan.
Yes. You fill out a birth certificate for your baby after birth giving the baby a name that you choose. If you choose not to name the baby you can leave it blank and the hospital will fill it in for you identifying the baby as baby boy or baby girl and your last name. Once the adopting parents take the baby into their care they can either keep the name you have chosen, keep a portion of it, or change the name. No matter what is decided you can order a copy of the original birth certificate through vital records. You can use the original birth certificate for a keepsake or for your memory book. Once the adopting parents have legally adopted the baby the original birth certificate is sealed by the courts and a new or amended birth certificate is issued giving the baby the adopting parents name. Once a birth certificate is sealed it is no longer available for anybody to receive. We order an original birth certificate and you can get a photocopy from us if you forgot to order one or didn’t feel that you wanted one at the time of your baby’s birth.